Tags

, , , , ,

fender.jpgI’ll tell you what I was thinking when I bought this Fender acoustic guitar earlier today.

I was thinking, there’s no time like the present. I promised myself this a month ago when I was in Virginia and picked up John von Kirk’s guitar one night and played a verse of “Shame and Scandal” right there in the living room at VCCA.

Today was a beautiful day here in New Jersey, a day to feel expansive in, and I’d just dropped by Vanity with a book poster and wound up getting a color touch-up, and while I was at the sink waiting for the glaze to cook, who should walk in but a guitar teacher who lives around the corner. Let’s just say that the fact that the guitar store was a block away from the hair salon felt like the universe’s way of nudging me into a purchase.

I was thinking it might be a good break from the obsessive rumination about the book business.

I was thinking it might be fun to play guitar with friends sometime. To sit in front of the fire in the living room or on the back porch, now that that’s the kind of weather we’re starting to get. To play with Noah.

And then there was the fact that I hadn’t bought myself a book advance present yet.

Since the last time I played guitar, back in high school, this cool thing has come up called the internet, and now you can get all the guitar chords you want for free, right online. And tonight, before my fingerpads totally wore out, here’s what I was playing. My guitar playing seemed to put Warren to sleep, but I thought I sounded pretty good.

