I just checked, and the big regional library system my town belongs to, BCCLS, now has 29 copies of “Fear and Yoga.” What a relief. Last time I checked, there were only five.

While I was on BCCLS, I checked on “Rattled” too, and discovered there are 57 copies in the system. Interestingly, maybe even surprisingly, many of them are checked out.

Funny thing, libraries. So different from the publishing biz. In so many ways, “Rattled” seems completely over. You can buy copies of it for a penny on Amazon. It’s like a first child after the birth of the new baby, or worse yet, a first wife. Yet, people are still reading it! About half the copies in the BCCLS library system are checked out!

It’s a nice reminder that books aren’t as ephemeral as they seem when you have a new book out. They do last. Look at Jane Austen. Look at Charles Dickens. They’re not sending any email blasts out. Their publicists are doing nothing for them, yet they still get read. And there I am, right on those same shelves, next to them. Well, maybe next to John Galsworthy, but you get the picture.

One of my best birthday presents this year (from my friend Pam Satran) was a tiny vial containing a scent called “In the Library.” It’s made by a company called CB I Hate Perfume, and it smells like old books. If you’re not a reader that won’t mean anything to you, but if you are, and especially if you were a childhood reader, this is the smell of solace, escape, adventure, the magnificent abundance of the world of literature.

It’s wonderful. I think I’ll dab some on every time I look at my Amazon rankings and feel depressed. It will remind me that no matter what happens in the publishing biz, I’ve been admitted into the library, and not just as a reader, but as part of the collection.

